The 2015 UK General Election is fast approaching, and our team has a timeline of key events and milestones ahead of the vote in early May. We also have the latest poll numbers for you (data is for the week of 11th-17th March).

Polling data: 11/03 to 17/03

  • Labour = 34%
  • Tory = 32-33%
  • UKIP = 15%
  • Lib Dems = 8%
  • Greens = 6%

Labour maintains their slight lead over the Conservatives, whilst UKIP remains on course to become Britain’s new third political party. The Liberal Democrats are stuck on just 8%, and the Greens are even lower at just 6%. These numbers are largely unchanged from last week.

UK Election Timeline:

Date & Event

25 March Last PMQs (Prime Minister’s Questions) for this term

30 March Formal dissolution of ParliamentWrits issued to all 650 constituencies

2 April ITV Leaders’ Debate(featuring leaders of all main parties)

9 April Deadline for nominations of candidacy

16 April BBC Leaders’ Debate(featuring leaders of all main parties)

20 April Deadline for voter registrationhttps://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

21 April Deadline for postal vote applicationshttp://www.parliament.uk/get-involved/elections/voting/

30 April Sky/Channel 4 Leaders’ debate(David Cameron vs Ed Miliband)

7 May Polling day(booths open between 7am and 10pm GMT)

8 May Result announced

The Typewriter will have complete coverage of the 2015 UK General Election, live from 7am GMT/local on Thursday 7th May across our website and social media feeds (for international readers: 2am EDT/New York; 10am GST/Dubai; 4pm AEST/Sydney).

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *